Scottish and Irish Titles

Scottish and Irish titles - Image rights stock

Scottish Titles

According to Scots Law there are some special titles which are recognised by the Crown:-

(1) Those in the peerage of Scotland with the title 'master' (see Scottish Master).

(2) Recognised chiefly styles and territorial designations of chiefs, chieftans and lairds, which are strictly speaking part of their surname.  These are under the jurisdiction of the Lord Lyon King of Arms. By statute these form part of the name and should always be used.  They are:

- Chiefs of Clans (Highlands).

- Chiefs of Names (Lowlands).

- A few independent Heads of considerable houses who are recognised as Chiefs (eg Fraser of Lovat, Macdonald of Clanranald, Macdonald of Sleat).

- Chieftains (branch chiefs).

- Lairds.

Irish Titles

There are three Irish Hereditary Knights, feudal dignities which were conferred upon the FitzGerald family: The Knight of Kerry (the Green Knight), The Knight of Glin (the Black Knight), and The White Knight. 

How to Address...

Chief, Chieftain, Laird

Female Chief, Chieftain, Laird

Wife or Widow of a Chief, Chieftain or Laird

Family of a Chief

Irish Hereditary Knights

Scottish feudal baronies

the debrett's 500

the debrett's 500

the Debrett's 500

the Debrett's 500

Celebrating Britons that are inspiring, achieving and making a difference.

Search now


Royal Portraits

Royal Portraits