The Army

The British Army is divided into two Commands: Land Command (planning and operations) and the Adjutant-General (responsible for recruitment and training).

Land Command, based in Wiltshire, has two main subdivisions, Field Army and Regional Forces.  These are structured as follows:

Corps: This is formed of two or more divisions, and can constitute as many as 50,000 personnel

Divisions: Formed of three or four brigades, as many as 20,000 personnel, commanded by a Major General

Brigade: Three or four battalion-sized units, numbering around 5,000 personnel, and commanded by a Brigadier.

For the purpose of parades, the British Army is listed according to an order of precedence, which is the order in which the various corps of the army parade, from right to left, with the unit on the extreme right being the highest in the order of precedence.

Usual Order of Precedence in the British Army

Household Cavalry
Royal Horse Artillery
Royal Armoured Corps
Royal Regiment of Artillery
Corps of Royal Engineers
Royal Corps of Signals

Foot Guards
Line Infantry

Army Air Corps

Royal Army Chaplains Department
Royal Logistic Corps
Royal Army Medical Corps
Corps of Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers
Adjutant General's Corps
Royal Army Veterinary Corps
Small Arms School Corps
Royal Army Dental Corps
Intelligence Corps
Army Physical Training Corps
General Service Corps
Queen Alexandra's Royal Army Nursing Corps
Corps of Army Music
Royal Gibraltar Regiment



the debrett's 500

the debrett's 500

the Debrett's 500

the Debrett's 500

Celebrating Britons that are inspiring, achieving and making a difference.

Search now


Royal Portraits

Royal Portraits